Placer county is currently issuing permits to applicants. In order to qualify to apply you must take a 8 hour course from an instructor that Placer County has on their list of approved instructors. Our team is included and our 2 day California Concealed Carry Classes qualify. Due to the 8 hour training requirement you only need to attend the second day of training but we encourage you to attend both days.
In Placer county you must qualify with each firearm you wish to list on your permit during the live fire portion of our training course.
Frequently Asked Questions for Placer County
What Does Placer County Require in order to apply for a permit?
- Proof that the person applying is of good moral character
- Proof that good cause exists for the issuance. Traditionally personal protection is sufficient cause.
- Proof that the person applying is a resident of the county or a city within the county
- Proof that the person applying has completed, at least, an 8 hour course of training including instruction on firearm safety, the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm and qualification of weapon(s)/type(s) to be listed on the permit
- Proof of no statutory prohibitions
When you apply you will have a face to face interview with a member of the Sheriff’s Support Staff to review these points.
Do I have to Register My Gun?
Yes, you must prove that each firearm you will be listing on your permit is registered to you in California. The gun cannot be registered to another family member. If you purchased the gun in California it is probably already properly registered to you.
What Restrictions Exist When Carrying my Firearm?
Placer County CCW Permit holders shall not, when carrying a weapon;
- Consume any alcoholic beverage.
- Commit any criminal act. You must report any arrest to the Sheriff’s Office CCW Coordinator within 10 days.
- Be in a place having a primary purpose of dispensing alcoholic beverages for on-site consumption.
- Be under the influence of any drug, or alcohol.
- Use any illegal drug.
- Refuse to show permit or surrender weapon to law enforcement upon request.
- Impede any peace officer.
- Represent self as a peace officer to any person, if not so employed.
- Possess weapon any place where prohibited by law or sign.
- Unjustifiably display weapon.
- Carry a concealed weapon not listed on the permit.
- Fail to disclose, when stopped or detained by law enforcement, your status as a CCW permit holder when you are carrying a weapon on your person or in your vehicle..
The restrictions above have been imposed by this agency under the California Penal Code 26200 and the DOJ Firearms Division.
What Are The Fees Associated with Apply for And Obtaining the Permit in Placer County?
There is a $20 non refundable application fee. Once approved, there is an $80 fee. This total $100 fee is a California state fee. There is an additional fee for the county in the amount of $165.